Friends of Training Program

Thank you to supporters of our training program

The following sponsors have been instrumental in supporting scholarships to Native American students to study public health at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.  

Mrs. Suzanne Roberts

Suzanne Roberts is a former actress, playwright, and director who is currently the host of the TV program, "Seeking Solutions with Suzanne,” which airs on The Comcast Network and HLN. Her husband, Ralph J. Roberts, founded Comcast and her son, Brian L. Roberts is Comcast's current CEO.

Students supported by Mrs. Roberts include:

Dr. Elizabeth Sackler

Dr. Elizabeth A. Sackler is an American Indian advocate, historian, and social activist. In 1992, Dr. Sackler became frustrated with Sotheby's refusal to repatriate Native American ceremonial masks, so she purchased them and returned them to their tribes of origin. This led her to become interested in art and social justice issues for American Indians, which led her to become the founding president of the American Indian Ritual Object Repatriation Foundation. Dr. Sackler is also the CEO and President of the Arthur M. Sackler Foundation and sits on the National Advisory Board of the National Museum of Women in the Arts, Washington, D.C., and on the Board of Trustees of the Brooklyn Museum, New York City. Learn more about Dr. Sackler's career.

Students supported by Mrs. Sackler include:

  • Joshuaa Allison-Burbank - Dine/Acoma Pueblo
  • Amber Anderson - Cherokee Nation
  • Madison Anderson - Chippewa/Anishinaabe
  • Aneliese Apala - Chickasaw
  • Agnes Attakai - Navajo
  • Kaylena Bray -Seneca
  • Louis Carl - Hopi
  • Leeann Cruz - Acoma Pueblo
  • Pearl Curley - Navajo
  • Kyle Durrant - Yakama Nation
  • Erica Ficklin - Tlingit and Oglala Lakota
  • Stefanie Gillson -Santee Sioux
  • Timian Godfrey - Navajo
  • Tiffany Griffis - Cherokee
  • Trudie Jackson - Dine’
  • Audrey Juliussen - Athabascan/Aleut
  • Keana Kaleikini - Navajo/Native Hawaiian
  • Naomi Lee - Seneca
  • Takayla Lightfield - Cheyenne River Sioux
  • Laramie Lunday - Turtle Mountain Chippewa
  • Rebecca Riley - Acoma Pueblo
  • Chelsey Russell - Navajo
  • Marie Zephier - Oglala Sioux Tribe
  • Tara Maudrie - Sault St. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians
  • Sophie Neuner - Karuk Tribe
  • Lane Franklin - Navajo
  • Lenora Waconda - Acoma Pueblo/Laguna Pueblo/Isleta Pueblo
  • David "Clay" Ward - Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma
  • Jennifer Barta Straub - Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska
  • Tyesha Ignacio - Navajo
  • Olivia Roanhorse - Navajo

San Manuel Band of Mission Indians

The San Manuel Band of Mission Indians is a federally recognized American Indian tribe located near the city of Highland, Calif. San Manuel is one of several clans of Serrano Indians, who are the indigenous people of the San Bernardino highlands, passes, valleys mountains, and high deserts who share a common language and culture. Learn more.

Students supported by the San Manuel Band of Mission Indians include:

  • Cassandra Allen - Navajo
  • Joshuaa Allison-Burbank - Dine’/Acoma Pueblo
  • Madison Anderson - Chippewa/ Anishinaabe
  • Rene Begay - Navajo
  • Louis Carl - Hopi
  • Charnielle Desiderio - Navajo
  • Takayla Lightfield - Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe-Lakota
  • Allanceson Smith - Navajo
  • Crystal Wabnum - Kikapoo Tribe
  • Agnes Attakai - Navajo
  • Leeann Cruz - Acoma Pueblo/San Pueblo
  • Tempest Dawson - Tulalip Tribe
  • Melanie McMichael - White Earth Band of Ojibwe
  • Elisha Sneddy - Navajo
  • David "Clay" Ward - Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma

Zegar Family Foundation

Established in 2007, the Zegar Family Foundation donates to worthy charities within the scope of their mission and principal areas of giving where gifts can have a meaningful impact and the Foundation can see tangible results of their philanthropy.

Students supported by Zegar Family Foundation include:

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Subscribe Now